Red Bull's Tyler Adams Finalist, U.S. Soccer Male Player of the Year

New York Red Bulls Homegrown midfielder Tyler Adams has been named a finalist for the U.S. Soccer Male Player of the Year Award, U.S. Soccer announced today. Voting for the award closes on December 3 at 11:59 p.m. ET.

Adams, 19, has risen quickly into the international scene, making his senior debut last November against Portugal and being named to every U.S. roster since. Adams scored his first Men's National Team goal in a 2-0 win over Mexico on September 11.

For club, Adams has made 27 appearances and set a new career-high with seven assists from a holding midfield role. The Wappingers Falls, N.Y. native helped lead the Red Bulls to the 2018 Supporters' Shield while setting new MLS records for points (71) and wins (22). New York is set to begin the Eastern Conference Championship of the 2018 Audi MLS Cup Playoffs this weekend, with the first leg against Atlanta United FC on Sunday, November 25 and the return leg on Thursday, November 29 at Red Bull Arena.

Adams was named a finalist alongside midfielders Weston McKennie and Wil Trapp, defender and fellow Red Bulls academy product Matt Miazga and goalkeeper Zach Steffen. The finalists for Female Player of the Year Award were also announced with midfielders Julie Ertz and Lindsey Horan, and forwards Tobin Heath, Alex Morgan and Megan Rapinoe being named.

Votes for U.S. Soccer Player of the Year awards are collected from respective National Team coaches, National Team players who have earned a cap in 2018, members of the U.S. Soccer Board of Directors, U.S. Soccer Athletes' Council, National Women's Soccer League head coaches for the WNT and American soccer league (MLS and USL) head coaches for the MNT, select media members and former players and administrators. In addition, select college coaches vote for the WNT award.

The U.S. Soccer Male Player of the Year has been awarded since 1984 when Rick Davis won it. Current U.S. MNT General Manager Earnie Stewart won it in 2001. Landon Donovan holds the record for most awards, winning it four times, while Clint Dempsey won it on three occasions. Then eighteen-year-old Christian Pulisic became the youngest player to win the award in 2017.