Based on the added details, I still believe the correct call was not made on this play, and the fact the ref stated it was not intentional leads me to believe there was lack of experience. However, we have all seen the most experienced referees even in the FIFA World Cup make even greater errors than described here. Anyway, lets say in this case the ball did find its way into the net after the collision. Now what comes into play is, when did the ref blow the whistle? Was it prior to the ball crossing the goal line or after? If it was prior, then play was stopped and the goal would not count, thus resulting in a PK and a booking on the GK. If after the ball crossed the goal line, then goal counts with a booking on the GK. As I stated earlier based solely on what was described IMHO, the GK invaded the attackers
space, by running into it and punching him in the head instead of the ball. The only decision in my opinion which should have been made was the color of the card to show, and to bring this into further light, if there was no other defender between the attacker and the GK, then DOGSO would apply.
Correct no one in between, the opposing team player marking him was behind attacking player.
Thank you. As I Stated orginally I was unsure of the call and the ref was solid all day.
So not picking on ref at all....just wanted to know...thanks again