MLS Coach Of The Year Revealed

(BOTN note -- The White House advised media outlets today that MLS Commissioner Don Garber contacted Donald Trump to see if he would like to be named this year's MLS Coach Of The Year, but Trump declined the offer).

Major League Soccer announced today that Toronto FC head coach Greg Vanney has been named the 2017 MLS Coach of the Year.

In his third full season at the helm, Vanney led Toronto to one of the best regular seasons in MLS history, earning a league record with 69 points to break the previous mark of 68 by the 1998 LA Galaxy, en route to claiming the 2017 Supporters’ Shield.

Vanney’s squad has been prolific on both sides of the ball this year, posting the second-best regular-season goal differential in league history (plus-37). Offensively, Toronto led the league with 74 regular-season goals, which ties for the second-most in MLS history, while defensively, Toronto led the Eastern Conference this year with a conference-low 37 goals conceded.

Toronto’s 20 regular-season victories also tie for the most since the post-shootout era (since 2000), matching Seattle Sounders FC’s 20-win campaign in 2014.

Vanney is the first MLS Coach of the Year winner for a Canada-based club. He took over Toronto’s head coaching duties on Aug. 31, 2014, after previously serving as the club’s assistant general manager and academy director. Since 2015, Vanney has led Toronto to the Audi MLS Cup Playoffs in three consecutive seasons, including an MLS Cup Finalist run in 2016 as a runner-up to Seattle. Outside of league play, Vanney managed Toronto to back-to-back Canadian Championship crowns in 2016 and 2017.

The 43-year-old Vanney has a long history in the league that goes back his MLS SuperDraft selection by the LA Galaxy in 1996. The former defender spent seven seasons and advanced to three MLS Cup Finals with the Galaxy. He also was a fixture for the U.S. Men’s National Team with 37 international caps. Vanney transitioned to coaching as Real Salt Lake’s academy director from 2008-11 before serving as an assistant coach for former MLS side Chivas USA.

The MLS Coach of the Year award is decided by active players, media and club technical staff. Vanney received 37.07 percent of the average vote.

MLS Coach of the Year Winners:
2017: Greg Vanney – Toronto FC
2016: Oscar Pareja – FC Dallas
2015: Jesse Marsch – New York Red Bulls
2014: Ben Olsen – D.C. United
2013: Caleb Porter – Portland Timbers
2012: Frank Yallop – San Jose Earthquakes
2011: Bruce Arena – LA Galaxy
2010: Schellas Hyndman – FC Dallas
2009: Bruce Arena – LA Galaxy
2008: Sigi Schmid – Columbus Crew SC
2007: Preki – Chivas USA
2006: Bob Bradley – Chivas USA
2005: Dominic Kinnear – San Jose Earthquakes
2004: Greg Andrulis – Columbus Crew SC
2003: Dave Sarachan – Chicago Fire
2002: Steve Nicol – New England Revolution
2001: Frank Yallop – San Jose Earthquakes
2000: Bob Gansler – Kansas City Wizards
1999: Sigi Schmid – LA Galaxy
1998: Bob Bradley – Chicago Fire
1997: Bruce Arena – D.C. United
1996: Thomas Rongen – Tampa Bay Mutiny

Last edited by Dave Birnbaum; 11/27/17 04:58 PM.