It's Almost Time....
Nobody Does It Better
EDP Fall 2017
EDP Scores & Standings
EDP NPL Scores & Standings
LIJSL Scores & Standings
Fall '17 Scores & Standings
Spring '17 LI Cup
Fall '17 Games Schedule
Spring '18 Games Schedule
Sportsmanship Spring '17
ECNL
ECNL Standings
2016-2017 ENY (State) Cup
Challenge Cup
Champions Cup
USSDA Standings
GDA Standings
BDA Standings
NSCAA HS & College Rankings
NYCSL Scores & Standings
NYCSL NPL
NYPL
NYCSL
NY Cup
Metropolitan
SUSA
Training Academy
Summer League
Summer Camps
Adult Leagues
Winter Youth Leagues
Tournaments
Field Rental
Birthday Parties
Newest Members
JimmyX, Aidan Gillespie, Matt Tennie, Dzaino, alphaball
14441 Registered Users
BOTN en Espańol
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
#667776 - 11/14/16 08:09 PM strange Offside call  
Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 7
IATKIS Offline
Back of THE NET
IATKIS  Offline
Back of THE NET

Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 7
In our game yesterday the following occurred:

• In our defending half, the most advanced opposing team’s attacker, A1, received a ball from one of her teammates in an onside position. She turned and started driving at the center fullback D1, who with the keeper behind her, was one of two defenders behind the ball.
• As A1 was preparing to try to beat D1, D1 attempted a tackle. Both players struck the ball at the same time and both ended up on the ground, A1, having tripped over the ball, was now in a more advanced position (closer to our goal) than D1, but D1 had the ball in front of her.
• A1 was a bit quicker to recover, got up, dispossessed D1 of the ball and started to drive toward the goal.
• The whistle was blown and the refs call off-side on the A1.
• I asked the AR, who had risen his flag to explain this and he said the A1 came from an off-side position to take the ball. I replied, yes but the ball was not played to her from a teammate – she was dribbling, lost possession to D1, and then quickly regained it - he said it didn’t matter. I was chatting with him before the game and he seemed pretty knowledgeable. Also opposing coach didn’t object to a call that in my mind took away a really good scoring chance for them.

Is the AR’s interpretation correct?

Junior Soccer Advertisements

Click Here!

#667782 - 11/14/16 09:14 PM Re: strange Offside call [Re: IATKIS]  
Joined: Mar 2015
Posts: 52
samgordon Offline
Back of THE NET
samgordon  Offline
Back of THE NET

Joined: Mar 2015
Posts: 52
KY
I am not a ref, but I'll be very interested in hearing if the AR's read is correct. Here's what I found for Rule 11:
Quote:
Law 11: Offside
When an attacking player receives the ball while on his opponents half, he must be level or behind the second to last defender (the last typically being the goalkeeper). However, this rule only applies if he is involved with the play. To get a better understanding of the offside rule, please see the guide section for a more detailed explanation.

It says "receives" the ball.

If the ref's read is correct, an team playing in their offense half shouldn't bother challenging the GK on a pass back.

#667784 - 11/14/16 09:59 PM Re: strange Offside call [Re: samgordon]  
Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 7
IATKIS Offline
Back of THE NET
IATKIS  Offline
Back of THE NET

Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 7
exactly!

#667845 - 11/15/16 02:00 PM Re: strange Offside call [Re: IATKIS]  
Joined: May 2015
Posts: 42
Anonymous414141 Offline
Back of THE NET
Anonymous414141  Offline
Back of THE NET

Joined: May 2015
Posts: 42
If the following is true:
* A1 initially received the ball while onside
* A1 did not come from an offside position after the collision

Then I think it was a bad call made by the AR. An example would be say the keeper decides to put the ball down and play it, and there was an attacker behind him hanging out but not interfering, the attacker has every right to try and play the ball. He is in an offside position, but did not receive the ball directly from a teammate.

When I work with my AR's I tell them to be cautious about raising the flag to quickly. I explain lets make eye contact as much as possible and lets see how it all pans out, I tell the AR to stand still where they think the offside occurred and not raise the flag so quickly in case the defender makes an attempt at the ball first. Lots of new interpretations of offisde to learn.

#667856 - 11/15/16 04:25 PM Re: strange Offside call [Re: Anonymous414141]  
Joined: Mar 2015
Posts: 52
samgordon Offline
Back of THE NET
samgordon  Offline
Back of THE NET

Joined: Mar 2015
Posts: 52
KY
Originally Posted By: Anonymous414141
If the following is true:
* A1 initially received the ball while onside
* A1 did not come from an offside position after the collision

Then I think it was a bad call made by the AR. An example would be say the keeper decides to put the ball down and play it, and there was an attacker behind him hanging out but not interfering, the attacker has every right to try and play the ball. He is in an offside position, but did not receive the ball directly from a teammate.

When I work with my AR's I tell them to be cautious about raising the flag to quickly. I explain lets make eye contact as much as possible and lets see how it all pans out, I tell the AR to stand still where they think the offside occurred and not raise the flag so quickly in case the defender makes an attempt at the ball first. Lots of new interpretations of offisde to learn.


I don't understand the section I bolded. According the OP, A1 receives the ball in an onside position. After the collision, let's say A1 (without the ball) continues past D1. If A1 comes "back" to the ball, that could be considered offsides?

#667899 - 11/16/16 09:58 AM Re: strange Offside call [Re: samgordon]  
Joined: Jun 2011
Posts: 223
Final Word Offline
Back of THE NET
Final Word  Offline
Back of THE NET

Joined: Jun 2011
Posts: 223
New York, NY, USA
Based on the description of the play, appears was not the correct call by the AR. However, the ref has the authority to overrule the call, and did not, possibly he/she was not in the correct position to do so?

#667963 - 11/16/16 08:50 PM Re: strange Offside call [Re: Final Word]  
Joined: Nov 2010
Posts: 744
LIRef77 Offline
LIRef77  Offline

Back of THE NET
****

Joined: Nov 2010
Posts: 744
To add further comments, A1 CANNOT be offside because 1- he did not receive the ball from a team mate while in an offside position and 2- he did not receive the ball from an opponent's DELIBERATE save (which would be gaining an unfair advantage) Therefore, it CANNOT be considered offside and both the AR and the CR are wrong if it happened the way it was described.

Even the most knowledgeable Referees at the highest levels (like the World Cup) make mistakes and it looks like this crew made one.


Moderated by  LIRef77 

Tournaments
EDP Fall Kickoff 8/26
Marlboro SA Classic 8/26
Lacey SC Labor Day 9/2
WYSL Cup 9/23
EDP Cup Fall 10/7
Parsippany Pride 10/7
Bayonne Blast 10/7
CT Rush Challenge 10/7
EISC Fall Classic 10/7
Northport SC 10/7
NRSA Harvest Fest 11/18
CRUSA Classic 11/18
Camps & Clinics
Stony Brook SC Camp
Soccer Coliseum Summer
FCW Training Program
NYSC Summer Camp
SUSA HS Prep Camp
SUSA Futures Summer Splash
SUSA Pre-Season Camp
Sponsors

Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 151 guests, and 4 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Globall Sports Centers
Soccer Leagues
Soccer Tournaments
Training Clinics
Birthday Parties
Field Rentals
Soccer Coliseum
Tournaments
Training
Youth Leagues
Adult Leagues
Subscribe to BOTN
BOTN Electronic Alerts

Click Here!


Copyright (c) Back of THE NET 1991 - 2017


Powered by Back of THE NET, LTD